Guitar Hero III

Where it took about 4 hours for me to beat Guitar Hero III on Easy, Medium took a couple nights this past weekend – a couple of nights and something I call note triage – to pass. The most difficult songs for me on this level were Slayer’s Raining Blood (which I skipped until the end) and Metalica’s One (which I played for about 45 minutes straight one night before giving up) The next night I beat it on the first time through using my new strategy of triaging notes – or just choosing any three notes for the toughest sections of the songs and ignoring the fourth. You can do this on virtually any song (like Raining Blood)
Like Jason, I find that Medium is exceedingly difficult because of my pinky’s level of coordination and uselessness. I don’t think I can, or will be able to move up a level and play with any success. And while I felt a bit like that after playing my first two easy songs, I don’t want to memorize the notes. My favorite song to play is actually one of the hardest in the game (and longest): DragonForce’s Through The Fire And Flames. If you can fight through the fatigue that can set in it is actually pretty fun, despite it’s cheesiness. This dude makes it look pretty easy – check his concentration!. Playing it on Guitar Hero is pretty impressive but check out the actual video of it being playing in “real life”. And just look at all that hair. Dang.
On another GH3 Note: This hacked together “Scratch Blaster” is pretty cool – though it really should have a different game to go along with it.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Brent on January 10, 2008 at 4:24 pm

    I beat the guitar part of Rock Band on Hard the first time through, didn’t fail any songs, though RB seems a bit easier than GH because there are 4 parts to play. Haven’t played GH3 yet though, curious if it’s any harder than 1 or 2.

  2. I started to play in Easy, but then switched to Medium pretty quickly because I realized that switching later would make it even harder. To any newcomers, I would suggest STARTING with Medium — or at least switching to it rather quickly.
    Metalica’s “One” was also the hardest song for me, which is funny because it would seem like it should be easy.

  3. That would have been a smart move to start on Medium. It is funny but now if I switch and try to play on Easy it is actually difficult because the pace is that much slower that my timing is off.
    I don’t know if I have it in me to play on the hard level.

Comments are closed.

