Back to Your Regularly Scheduled Programming

The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King Platinum Series Extended Edition 4-disc Super Duper DVD set is set to release on December 14 with…. 50 additional minutes of footage jammed in there. That will bring the total duration of the last film to over 4 hours and 10 minutes and the complete Extended Edition Trilogy (which incidentally I am waiting for them to release as one gigantic set) to 11 hours and 22 minutes. There is also an additional 20+ hours (yeah that’s right, hours) of documentaries and related footage / goodies that brings the total for the 3 extended additions to well over 50 hours of such special features — not to mention a couple Easter eggs.
In Other Movie News…
I have recently seen Ray (4/5), The Motorcycle Diaries (3.5/5), I Heart Huckabees (4/5) and The Incredibles (4.25/5), and I plan on reviewing them as soon as I get this site set up to handle such things adequately. In the mean time I will share with you some of the movies that I am eagerly anticipating the rest of the year:
Sideways – I loved Paul Giamatti American Splendor so I will give this a try.
Lemony Snicket’s a Series of Unfortunate Events – I have been looking forward to this for a while – even before I saw that it actually looks pretty good – definitely Tim Burton-esque.
Meet the Fockers – sequel to Meet the Parents starring Dustin Hoffman as well as DeNiro and the rest.
and most eagerly anticipated…
The Life Aquatic – the new movie by Wes Anderson, writer/director of some of my favorite movies: The Royal Tenenbaums, Rushmore, and Bottle Rocket

