Masquerading as Content

A dragonfly mayfly has a life span of 24 hours.
A goldfish has a memory span of three seconds. [this appears to refute this so I am willing to bust this myth]
A dime has 118 ridges around the edge.
The microwave was invented after a researcher walked by a radar tube
and a chocolate bar melted in his pocket.
The average person falls asleep in seven minutes.
There are 336 dimples on a regulation golf ball.

5 responses to this post.

  1. I knew it took me a long time to fall asleep compared to most people, but not 10x longer. :/

  2. Posted by DAN on August 25, 2004 at 2:26 pm

    Id like to politely disagree with your assertation that a dragonfly has a life span of 24 hours. I used to catch them as a child and keep them in an aquarium for several days or weeks at a time and then let them go or dump them out when they died. I also would also try to scoop the nyphs up from ponds and keep them as well. They never died as long as I kept fresh pond water in there for them. I believe dragonflies actually live under water for several years in the nymph stage and do have a relatively short adult life, but more along the lines of six months or so versus 24 hours. Respectfully submitted, DAN

  3. Posted by DAN on August 26, 2004 at 12:07 pm

    Again, I don’t want to seem like I’m ruining all your fun, but I know a thing or two about mayflies since they hatch on Mille Lakes, Lake Pepin and many other lakes I fish. They live underwater in the nymph stage for quite a while in the mud on the bottom of the lake. I think to have your statement correct, you’d have to say something like “The adult phase in the lifecylce of a mayfly typically lasts only 24 hours.” They don’t even have mouths, by the way.
    Also, thinking about the goldfish memory span, I believe there have been studies where researchers have “trained” goldfish to swim through barriers placed into their tanks in a certain way to receive food. Is this memory or some sort of learned behavior? Is learned behavior based on memory? I don’t know. I’m sure you could find this stuff on the Web someplace.

  4. First off, you don’t need to, nor should you provide a fake email address when posting comments on Alt Text – please refer to the rules of posting comments for more info.
    Second, who’s to say that a mayfly is really a mayfly until it becomes the “fly” or enters the adult portion of its life cycle. Is a butterfly a butterfly when it is a caterpillar? I don’t know, I’m asking.

  5. Posted by DAN on August 26, 2004 at 4:12 pm

    Hi. I’m not trying to be cute. I have tried several times to not leave an email address and stay within the posting rules. It won’t let me do it so I thought I’d leave an email address that might light you know what was going on.
    I don’t know the answer to your second question. I know that the DNA of the two (caterpillar-butterfly, nymph-mayfly) have to be the same. It’s got all the DNA, it’s just that some genes just hang around and do nothing as a caterpillar-nymph (ex wings) and then are turned on to change into a butterfly or mayfly at some point.

Comments are closed.

