Eternal Sunshine

Year: 2004
Genre: Comedy / Drama / Romance / Sci-Fi
MPAA: Rated R for language, some drug and sexual content.
Runtime: 108 min
IMDB User Rating: 8.6/10 (941 votes)
Alt Text Rating: 9.2/ 10
For my movie-going dollar (or 7 1/2 of them) it rarely gets any better than Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind. There were very few flaws in the movie and if it had come out a few years ago, before all the movies about memory loss (Memento, Paycheck, Gothica, The Bourne Identity there is one I am forgetting… and even 50 First Dates) I would have loved it all the more.
While I do feel the concept is getting a bit old, the emotions and honesty shown in the actors’ relationships was fresh and felt very real and true. Kate Winslet was better than I have ever seen her and Jim Carrey plays the role he should continue to play. I left the theater slightly disappointed due more to my lofty expectations than the merits of the film. After mulling it over in my head some, I can say that it was definitely the best movie I have seen this year. I can’t wait to see it again. What can Charlie Kaufman do to top what I think is his best work yet? We can all feel lucky to find out.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Doctor on March 22, 2004 at 3:46 pm

    Why is everyone an expert on movies?

  2. My bro’s tell me it’s all about Michel Gondry. Michel Gondry is the new Jean-Pierre Jeunet.

Comments are closed.

