What would you choose as your label?

Mark had a really great post yesterday and I wanted to make sure to point to it as it is exactly how I feel about many of the positions I am in in life.

We should be proud of the accomplishments of our past. However, democracy and freedom are not a product of complacency or ambivalence. It is the people who stood up against public opinion to fight for what they believe is right, who pushed against the inertia of the status quo that allows us to live in one of the greatest democracies in the world.

Some definitions (also previously posted by Mark) serve to illustrate why I choose the political slant I usually do:
conservative

  1. Favoring traditional views and values; tending to oppose change.
    Traditional or restrained in style
  2. Moderate; cautious

conservatism

  1. The inclination, especially in politics, to maintain the existing or traditional order.
  2. A political philosophy or attitude emphasizing respect for traditional institutions, distrust of government activism, and opposition to sudden change in the established order.

liberal

  1. Not limited to or by established, traditional, orthodox, or authoritarian attitudes, views, or dogmas; free from bigotry.
  2. Favoring proposals for reform, open to new ideas for progress, and tolerant of the ideas and behavior of others; broad-minded.
  3. Of, relating to, or characteristic of liberalism.

liberalism

  1. A political theory founded on the natural goodness of humans and the autonomy of the individual and favoring civil and political liberties, government by law with the consent of the governed, and protection from arbitrary authority.

Definitions via dictionary.com

…to paraphrase William F. Buckley (former CIA operative and principal editor of The National Review), a conservative is a person who believes that everything that’s good already happened and that the best of all possible worlds would be an endless recapitulation of the past. [cortexity]

I tend to believe that everything can be better. In my personal life, on the sports teams that I follow, at my workplace, and in society at large, I feel that it is my duty to point out flaws and try to bring about change where change is needed. Sometimes this is labeled troublemaking, or whining. I wouldn’t do it if I didn’t care, however, I would simply pick another team to root for, change jobs, or move to another country. But because I care about those things in my life, and my country, I must point out its flaws and strive to improve them.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by faris on December 30, 2003 at 1:15 pm

    certainly plenty of flaws to point out with the Vikings these days! lol :0)

Comments are closed.

