Happy ROTK Eve

Here we are on the eve of the opening of the final installment of the Lord of the Rings movies. I am fresh of last nights (in theater) viewing of the Two Towers extended edition. I am impressed with how well the 3 hour and 40 minute movie flows. Peter Jackson should get the Best Director nod for the culmination of his 7 years of work on this series.
I can’t help but get a twinge of sadness that the movies will be ending soon. What will I have to post about? There’s always The Hobbit and speculation on when the pressure will be too much for Peter Jackson to withstand. I get the same feeling of loss when I complete a book series I have really enjoyed.
In other movie related news:
The New York Film Critic Circle has announced its award winners for 2003 and the Return of the King gets Best Film. The AFI has posted its 2003 Movie of the Year candidates as well.

