Almost lost in translation

I expected to really like Lost in Translation with Bill Murray and Scarlett Johansson. And while both Murray and Johansson were excellent I just felt like something was…well, lost. Maybe the film could have been buoyed with a better soundtrack as I kept expecting it to have – the right music could have carried this film much the same way soundtracks have in films such as Rushmore, Magnolia, and to a certain extent Run Lola Run.
The film is a comedy, though it doesn’t feel that way at times – it’s humor is so very subtle. I think it will grow on me. I think I still like this movie and I think I will like it more as time goes on – I just can’t figure out why it missed the mark I am sure it was going to hit.

6 responses to this post.

  1. I haven’t seen it yet, but the previews really drew me. I’m dissapointed to know it missed the mark.

  2. Don’t worry. I will soon be your senator from Minnesota and all will be well.

  3. Posted by .caleb on November 13, 2003 at 1:10 pm

    i actually really like the Lost in Translation soundtrack. it’s subtle, but i like that. plus it’s nice to see some classic shoegaze music getting some recognition. the track by squarepusher is my favourite, its so short and delicate and deeply nostalgic feeling. i haven’t seen the film yet, and i don’t know if i will, honestly. but yeah, i do like the soundtrack.
    on the subject of soundtracks, which are your favourites? i’m really, really into film scores and pop soundtracks in general, but some of my favourites are “Amelie”, “Out of Africa”, “Walkabout”, “Il Postino”, “The City of Lost Children”, “The Straight Story” and many others. i pretty much love anything by John Barry, and Angelo Badalamenti.

  4. I really liked the soundtracks to “The Mission”, “The Royal Tenenbaums”, “I am Sam” (all Beatles covers), “Hedwig and the Angry Inch” (ok so that’s a musical) and I wanted to like the soundtrack for “Storytelling” (all Belle & Sebastian” but I couldn’t get into it.

  5. Posted by .caleb on November 14, 2003 at 3:55 pm

    royal tenenbaums is ok, if not a bit kitschy. The Mission is great. I Am Sam i didn’t like, mainly cause i do not like the beatles all that much. and Storytelling is awesome, but then again i’m a violently loyal B&S fan. but seriously, “F**k this S**t” is a gorgeously melancholic song, in the vein of Midnight Cowboy and other great 70’s John Barry movie themes…

  6. Various Artists – Lost In Translation OST

    It’s no surprise that ‘Lost In Translation’ would have a cool soundtrack to accompany it. Sofia Coppola’s last picture, ‘The Virgin Suicides’, was scored by Air and her latest has Kevin Shields in charge. Well, not so much ‘in charge’…

Comments are closed.

