100 Best Songs of the Past 25 Years

Obviously creating a list of the Top 100 Songs from the Past 25 years is not without its perils, but for VH1 to miss the mark so badly on so many songs, is inexcusable. Do they spend any time researching this or do they simply get 5 people in a room and punch out a list in 30 minutes?
For simplicity and brevity I will only pick on thier top 20 list. It’s almost too easy.

    20. You Shook Me All Night Long – AC/DC
    19. Fight The Power – Public Enemy
    18. Losing My Religion – R.E.M.
    17. Photograph – Def Leppard
    16. Don’t Speak – No Doubt
    15. Another Brick In The Wall (Part 2) – Pink Floyd
    14. Nothing Compares 2 U – Sinéad O’Connor
    13. Waterfalls – TLC
    12. You Oughta Know – Alanis Morissette
    11. Jump – Van Halen
    10. Like A Virgin – Madonna
    9. Every Breath You Take – The Police
    8. I Will Always Love You – Whitney Houston
    7. When Doves Cry – Prince
    6. Walk This Way – (with Steven Tyler/Joe Perry) – Run-D.M.C.
    5. One – U2
    4. 8 Mile – Eminem
    3. Sweet Child O’ Mine – Guns N’ Roses
    2. Billie Jean – Michael Jackson
    1. Smells Like Teen Spirit – Nirvana

Ok so I am not going to bicker on Nirvana, U2, Michael Jackson (although I think he had better songs), Madonna (though the same criticism applies), Prince, Pink Floyd, Whitney Houston, and The Police.
I would even cut some slack to Guns N’ Roses (though not at #3), AC/DC, Sinéad O’Connor, and R.E.M., but then there is Def Leppard, No Doubt, Van Halen, and Eminem at #4! (and I really like the song 8 Mile). I leave the best for last however: Waterfalls by TLC at #13!!!! And I know I was going to stick in the top 20 but Britney Spears was at 28 for Pete’s sake!
Where are all the artists like: Radiohead (#84), The Pixies, Elliot Smith, and even bands like Oasis (#95)? How can songs like MMMBop by Hanson, Ms. Jackson by Outkast, Hot In Herre by Nelly, and I Want It That Way by the Backstreet Boys be considered anywhere near the BEST 100 SONGS!

