2 by 2

I recently saw Russian Ark – a film created in just one take and one continuous shot. Two things stopped me from completely enjoying this film: 1. I don’t speak Russian so consequently I could only read the subtitles of the primary characters. There was a lot of “chatter” that I think would have been interesting, and 2. the story for this movie was obviously conceived as a means to producing a movie with the technical achievements (one continuous take and camera shot) in mind. I would have much preferred that the technological achievement take a back seat to the story. The way this film was shot was amazing. Just think of the score of 4 live orchestras accompanying the film as it makes its way through the beautiful Hermitage Museum in St. Petersburg. I wish the story had been conceived before the technical achievement was decided upon, however.

