The King of Innocence

As I watched the Martin Bashir “documentary” on his 8 months of following Michael Jackson, I found myself, on more than one occasion, feeling sorry for the King of Pop – not because of the abuse he took as a child or because he obviously has some serious issues resolving his own looks (not to mention his mortality), but rather because he had to deal with Bashir (and all the Bashirs everyday of his life). At times the axe Bashir had to grind was nearly blocking out everything else. What I found especially annoying was his incessant sensationalism and desire to make everything out to be of much greater import than it was.
I admit I believe Jackson when he says he has only had innocent, loving affection towards children (his own and others’) and has not harmed anyone intentionally. I think he may be one of the most misunderstood media figures of all-time. I also think that despite having lived for 44 years, Jackson is much closer to the mentality of a 12-14 year-old and cannot adequately defined himself from “grown ups.” Though I tend to not believe him in his assertions that his only plastic surgeries were 2 nose jobs, I will give the guy the benefit of the doubt. He is such an easy target that I feel its the news media that are truly the problem.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Where can I find out when this was posted?

  2. Will my personal information be public if I post here?

Comments are closed.

