Read One Book

I couldn’t find any contact information of the site for this so I thought I would post here. The City of Saint Paul is having a contest of sorts or really a rally, I don’t know. It is having an event that is designed to get every citizen to read one book. It’s called St. Paul Reads and they have narrowed down a list of over 2000 suggested books to ten.

I am posting about this because one of the suggested books is Ishmael by Daniel Quinn. I urge everyone to read this book. I wish there was some way to rig the selection process and get this book chosen because I would love to live in a city where everyone has read that book. (think about a world doing the same!)

Here are the ten finalists:

  • Ishmael by Daniel Quinn
  • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
  • The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down by Anne Fadiman
  • Because of Winn-Dixie by Kate DiCamillo
  • Holes by Louis Sachar
  • Harry Potter and the Sorcererís Stone by J.K. Rowling
  • Roxaboxen by Alice McLerran
  • Life as a Daymaker by David Wagner
  • Father and Child Reunion: How to Bring the Dads We Need to the Children We Love by Warren Farrell
  • A Murderous Yarn by Monica Ferris

I do not want to slight any of these books, but I know that Ishmael is a much better book than Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone and certainly sounds better than A Murderous Yarn.

So, if you have any sway in this selection, or know someone that does, use it and get people to read this book. And use the sway you have in your own mind and make yourself read it too.

