Hi my name is Ben and I am an optimist.

Hi Ben.

I don’t know why really, but I always believe that things will work themselves out in the end – on a small scale: this burnt toast won’t taste too bad and on a larger scale: yeah, I think that racist ideas are becoming more scarce.

These ideas may be naive of me, but I have always looked on the sunny side of life. Always on the sunny side. Tomorrow will be better than today. Next year will be even better than this year. When I die I think things will be ok. Normally ideas like these are derived from an underlying belief system, and I guess that is true for me. It’s just that I don’t know what the belief system is. For many people a faith in a god of some sort delivers this sort of outlook on life. I can’t say that this is the case for me. God and I aren’t on speaking terms really, but if we were, I don’t think I would have too many kind things to say to him in any event.

So where does this optimistic viewpoint find its roots in me? I am open to suggestions.

