Alone at the drive in

Going to the movies by myself is something I don’t often do. (but I am gradually losing my inhibitions about it) However, going to a movie just to see the trailer of another movie I really am looking forward to is something I have only done once before. As it turns out the new trailer for The Fellowship of the Ring wasn’t playing at tonight’s showing of Zoolander as I was hoping but I did see a preview for a movie I am really excited to see as well: Wes Anderson’s latest movie, The Royal Tenenbaums.

If you have not seen Rushmore, why not? Go rent buy it now. It is very good. The Royal Tenenbaums looks like (or at least is being marketed to look like) another Rushmore. And it too, looks very good. It stars Gene Hackman, Anjelica Huston, Gwyneth Paltrow, Owen Wilson, Luke Wilson, Ben Stiller, Bill Murray, and Danny Glover (wow) and with music from The Beatles, Nick Drake, The Ramones, Elliot Smith among others it is hard not to see why this movie will be great.

This year has been a pretty bad drought as far as movies go. It looks like that is looking to change in the last couple months of the year. Of course there is Fellowship of the Rings and The Royal Tenenbaums, but I am looking forward to the following as well: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, Bandits, K-PAX, Monsters, Inc. (the last 3 tend to just have certain aspects of them I find interesting and so, would see)

